top of page


NR 19-09-01 536.jpg

About The Show

In September 2019, The Refugee Orchestra Project (ROP) made its UK debut under the baton of the acclaimed American-Russian conductor Lidiya Yankovskaya at LSO St Luke’s in London.


Described by the Boston Globe as “spreading a message of inclusion”, ROP provides a platform for instrumentalists and singers to celebrate the immense contributions that refugees make to society.


Belize-born British composer Errollyn Wallen MBE performed her Concerto Grosso with the orchestra. The orchestra played ‘Freedom’ by Afghan composer Milad Yousufi, ‘Metamorphosis’ by Iranian composer Gity Razaz, Bartók’s Romanian Folk Dances, a medley by renowned composer, lyricist and American cultural icon Irving Berlin and ‘The Wind’ from Wuthering Heights by Tony and Grammy award-winning composer, Claude-Michel Schönberg, himself the son of Hungarian-Jewish refugees.

Performances by: Elise Caluwaerts, John Mills, Chi-Chi Nwnoku and Errollyn Wallen MBE.


Creative Team

Musical Director & Conductor
Lidiya Yankovskaya



General Management

David Adkin Limited




Steven Kunis

for Panorama Productions


The Orchestra


Adéla Ševčíková

Bozidar Vikotic

Catrin Meek

Chi-Chi Nwanoko

Chris Augusitne

Double Basses

Errollyn Wallen

Fraser Tannock

Grace Buttler

Ishani Bhoola

Isis Dunthorne

Jackie Hayter

John Mills

Magda Pietraszewska

Matt Elston

Mirko Foschi

Monica Mccarron

Nathan Knight

Nicole Wilson

Patrick Savage

Patrycja Mynarska

Paul Saunders

Rachael Lander

Rebecca Hill

Reiad Chibah

Rosie Thompsett

Sharada Mack

Tetsuumi Nagata

bottom of page